Bobby Flay’s Pizza Dough is Awesome!

Standard

P1050913What family doesn’t eat pizza? It is such a universally family friendly dish that in my mind it can’t be beat. I’m not talking about the kind you can order on the fly from most delivery places  in town, but a true fired pizza is awesome.

Now, I certainly order from those places from time to time, but as I am trying to become more conscious of where my meals come from I have backed off from ordering delivery pizza. And that is a tough feat for a working mom to handle on Friday nights. Often I turn to the fresh dough that I can buy in the grocery store, and of course the kids love to help out and develop their own creations and then watch it bubble and bake in the oven. And that store-bought dough certainly satisfied my craving for the crisp, yet chewy dough that I often admire.

But over the last couple of years I have attempted several different recipes for homemade pizza dough; however, none of them really met my standards. I tried the one on the package of the yeast: too crunchy. I tried the one on the baking mix box: too doughy. I tried the Kitchenaid mixer recipe: too yeasty. With all of those failed attempts, I will say that I was discouraged for a while and I, again, backed off from making pizza at home. But this week I thought Why not take another stab at it and put it on the grill? I mean what could be better than pizza on the grill, right? See notes below on how not to burn your crust, which I have certainly done before.

So after scouring the books in my pantry and The Food Network website I narrowed it down to two recipes: Bobby Flay’s and Tyler Florence. These are two chefs I feel are very methodical in their recipe testing and also are well versed in pizza. So I decided to give Mr. Flay’s first dibs on taking over my kitchen, and sure enough it was a winner. I never even tried Mr. Florence’s dough, I was so happy with this one that I didn’t want to ruin perfection. For now Mr. Flay’s dough is my go to pizza pie crust.

P1050909

Here’s a traditional Tomato and Cheese Grilled.

P1050910

This one I got a little creative and topped it with some of my Sauvignon Blanc Peach Jam and Chicken Sausage.

P1050912

This last one was more of a Greek inspired pie with some Olive Tapenade and Feta.

Shopping List:

3 1/2 -4 cups Bread Flour

1 teaspoon sugar

1 envelope instant dry yeast

2 teaspoons Kosher salt

1 1/2 cups water at 110 degrees F (I didn’t check the temperature of my water, but I just used warm water from the tap)

2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons olive oil

Instructions:

1. Combine the bread flour, sugar, yeast and kosher salt in the bowl of a stand mixer and combine. While the mixer is running, add the water and 2 tablespoons of the oil and beat until the dough forms into a ball.

2. If the dough is sticky, add additional flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, until the dough comes together in a solid ball.  If the dough is too dry, add additional water, 1 tablespoon at a time. I ended up using 3 1/2 cups plus 3 tablespoons.

3. Scrape the dough  on to a lightly floured surface and gently knead into a smooth, firm ball. I just let it run a little longer in my mixer, instead of getting my hands all dirty at this point.

4. Grease a large bowl with the remaining 2 teaspoons olive oil, add the dough, cover the bowl with plastic wrap and put it in a warm area to let it double in size, about 1 hour.

5. Turn the dough out on to a lightly floured surface and divide it into 2 equal pieces. Cover each with a clean kitchen towel or plastic wrap and let them rest for 10 minutes. At this point I sprayed them each with olive oil mist and placed them in gallon sized zip bags and put them in the refrigerator to use the next evening. They should last this way for approximately 5 days and then they will lose the active yeast.

Baking: Heat your oven to 475 degrees. Then, roll out your dough to about 1/4 inch thickness approximately 14 inches round. Top the dough with your favorite toppings, try to go light though since the more you pile on the longer it will take to cook. Bake it for 15-20 minutes, watch for the edges to turn brown.

Grilling: Heat your grill to high heat on all burners. Then, roll out your dough to about 1/4 inch thickness approximately 10 inches round (but I can never get mine round, so oval will work too). Oil both sides of the dough lightly, so it doesn’t stick to the grill and place it on the grates for approximately 2 minutes with the lid open. Then, flip the dough and top with your favorites. Again, try to go light; the more on your pie the higher chance of it cooking unevenly. Let the pizza continue to cook for 3-4 minutes with the lid closed.

Makes: 2 10-inch pizzas; serves 4-6 people

Thanks, Bobby Flay. I won’t be buying the already prepared dough at the market anymore.

Adapted from: Bobby Flay’s Pizza Dough recipe

2 responses »

  1. Hi Suzanne! I’ve been meaning to post about pizza dough, too, but I haven’t gotten a picture yet I’m happy with. I haven’t tried Flay’s dough, so I’ll have to give it a spin. How was the peach jam/sausage pizza combo?

Leave a Reply

