Chicken Crunchies


Bags of Mickey Mouse shaped nuggets used to be a staple in my freezer…until it drove me insane. No seriously, I have had many a meal where I thought I was going to pull my hair out if my son complained any more about what was offered to him. You know how this goes down at the dinner table. It’s not pretty.

My kids would demand to have these fun shapes or they wouldn’t eat. Crazy, right? I started to get pretty mad at myself for giving into this form of extortion. And buying into the marketing of food for kids. I mean I am a pretty good cook. I should be able to get my little guy to eat chicken that’s not in nugget form, right?

So that’s when it all started–our food experiment last summer. We’ve had our good reports and bad, but my kids no longer eat nuggets. And, they love these Chicken Crunchies, which couldn’t be easier to make. These are also perfect to make a big batch and toss the extras in the freezer. If you’re not making a big batch or you’re lucky enough to have a double oven, you can cook some steak fries alongside the chickies.

Shopping List:

2 pounds thin-slice chicken breasts, each cut in half

1 egg + 2 tablespoons water

2 cups Panko bread crumbs

1 tablespoon garlic salt

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

Instructions: Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

1. In a gallon sized zippered plastic bag combine the bread crumbs, the garlic salt, and the Italian seasoning. Mix it well, so that the seasoning is evenly distributed.

2. In a shallow bowl whisk together the egg and water.

3. Dip 3 or 4 strips of chicken in the egg wash, then toss them in the zippered bag. Shake it well (a good job for the kiddos to do) so that the chicken is coated completely.

4. Place the chicken strips on a parchment lined baking sheet. Repeat the process until all the Crunchies are on the pan.

5. Spray the tops with baking spray. Then pop them in the oven for 12 minutes, or maybe a minute more if they are not yet golden enough.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Crunchies

Leave a Reply

