S’mores Baked Buttermilk Doughnuts


Smores Baked Buttermilk Doughnuts

I made these doughnuts a while back now, but I just read an article yesterday that said doughnuts are the cupcakes of today, kinda reminiscent of the Quiche scene in When Harry Met Sally, whatever, but I thought Why not post these while I am on the cutting edge! I mean what the heck. So I’ve done a few variations of these over the years, I normally bake them in mini-muffin tins, works out great as a 2 bite treat, but this blog gave me the excuse to go out and buy the baked doughnut pan at Sur la Table. They really taste the same no matter how you make them. So, if you like cake doughnuts or muffins of any kind–these are right up your alley.

I played with the recipe a little one time to try to do a banana bread version of these, but it didn’t work out. However, the last time I made them I replaced a 1/4 cup of the flour with crushed Wheaties, and no one was the wiser. Insert evil laugh. Ha ha ha. I think that might have something to do with the marshmallows on top though. 

These are just simple buttermilk doughnuts with some cinnamon in the dough and a powdered sugar glaze and mini-chocolate chips on top. Watch out for variations. I think I prefer the mini-muffin version because the recipe makes more, and the pan version only makes 6, which is hard when you want to eat all six yourself.

Shopping List:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (or 1 cup flour and 1/4 crushed Wheaties)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 low-fat buttermilk (or 1/2 cup milk mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice)

1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 egg

4 teaspoons unsalted butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions:

1. Heat oven to 325 degrees. Coat a 6-indentation doughnut pan with non-stick cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

3. In another bowl, this can be a small one, whisk buttermilk (or milk mixture), sugar, egg, melted butter and vanilla extract until smooth.

4. Add milk mixture to flour mixture and whisk until smooth.

5. Spoon batter into doughnut indentations. Fill them about 2/3 full. You might need to spread the batter around to level it before baking.

6. Bake at 325 degrees for 13 minutes, until doughnuts spring back when lightly pressed. Cool in pan on rack 3 minutes, then carefully turn out on to rack to cool.

To frost:  Combine 1 cup powdered sugar with 2 tablespoons milk until smooth. Spoon cooled doughnuts in frosting and sprinkle with mini-chips, sprinkles, coconut or nuts. Careful, the chocolate chips will  get all melty-messy if you put them on while the doughnuts are still warm. 

For cinnamon-sugar doughnuts (the churro effect): Toss warm doughnuts in cinnamon-sugar to coat.

ADAPTED FROM: Family Circle

One thought on “S’mores Baked Buttermilk Doughnuts

  1. Oh my, these s’mores baked buttermilk doughnuts look so decadent that I believe I want to make these today. I simply love this recipe. Very unique and inventive.

Leave a Reply

