Churro Chips


Churro Chips

While on vacation we passed by a Churro stand and I commented on how much I love them. And to my surprise one of the people I was with asked, “What’s a Churro?” Well, that got me rolling. Describing the fluffy doughnuttiness. The fact that they are rolled in cinnamon and sugar, so they don’t seem as bad for you as a doughnut. Their brilliant portable hand-held packaging. Oh Man! And then I realized I really needed to eat one soon. By then we had passed the stand, and I let the thought of rolling myself in cinnamon and sugar fall by the wayside. Until we got home. The second night that I made dinner after being home from our trip, I couldn’t resist anymore….I was craving Churros. Instead of making a fast run to the pier to get them from a street vendor, I saved a little of my dignity and tried my hand at making my own. I had seen an article in a magazine for Soppapillas, which are fried tortillas rolled in ecstasy. I can’t seem to find that recipe anymore, but since I don’t fry ANYTHING (because the screaming hot oil scares me silly), I thought I’d adapt the idea for the oven. They turned out fantastic! So delicious. I devoured way too many of them before they even cooled down.

Shopping List:

3 medium flour tortillas (about 7.5 inches in diameter), cut into 4 wedges

3 Tablespoons melted butter

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tesapoon cinnamon

Instructions:

1. Heat the oven to 425 degrees.

2. On a cookie sheet, lined with a silpat or parchment paper spread out all of the tortillas.

3. Using a pastry brush, a spoon should work fine too, drench the tortillas in butter. Painting one side should do it. The butter really soaks through as it is.

4. Mix the cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl and then spoon it over all of the wedges, so that there is a pretty thick layer of the cinnamon-sugar mix.

5. Bake in the oven 8-10 minutes, the sugar will carmelize.

Leave a Reply

