I Stuffed My Chicken in a Pepper!


Stuffed Peppers

 Who doesn’t love stuffing? Come on, it’s the best part of Thanksgiving dinner, right? Ok, maybe that’s the pumpkin pie, but really I do love my stuffing. And, I have made many variations of stuffing over the years, but nothing stands up to the basic, celery,  onion and sage mix.

This is not a recipe for stuffing! It is a recipe for Chicken Stuffed Peppers.

Ok, so it’s not a stuffing recipe, but this one certainly fooled my discerning 5-year old into thinking it tasted a lot like stuffing. Yay! Success! One more favorite food twisted in to a more adult friendly dish. Not to mention that this versatile recipe requires very little prep time and is on the table in less than 45 minutes, start to finish.

Shopping List:

1 lb. chicken

4 large button mushrooms

2 large red peppers

1 celery rib, chopped

1/3 cup breadcrumbs

1/3 cup parmesan plus 2 tablespoons for the tops

1 teaspoon poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

Instructions:

1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees and spray an 8 x 8 baking dish with cooking spray.

2. Chop the mushrooms. The first time I made this I did a rough chop, but someone made me pick out all of the mushrooms. So the second time I did a quick pulse in the food processor to be sneaky.

3. Place the mushrooms, celery, chicken, breadcrumbs, 1/3 cup of the parmesan and the seasonings in a medium mixing bowl. Smoosh all of the ingredients together with your hands to get everything evenly distributed.

4. Cut the peppers in half and fill each with the chicken mixture. Sprinkle the tops with the remaining parmesan cheese.

5. Bake  uncovered for 35 minutes then test for doneness (no pink in the center and a firm texture, like the base of your thumb).

Serves 3-4.

Variation: Instead of stuffing this mixture in a pepper, click for Stuffin’ Sliders.

2 thoughts on “I Stuffed My Chicken in a Pepper!

Leave a Reply

