Jamie Oliver’s Steamed Pudding Cakes


Give me some cake. STAT! When you’re in a cake emergency and you need it fast this cake is super simple and speedy to make.

A little over a year ago now, I was inspired by Jamie Oliver’s tv show Food Revolution (the first season, before it came to my town) to toss out the chicken nuggets and stop bowing down to my kids and serving three different meals for dinner. I wasn’t doing any good by instilling the restaurant  attitude at home. It was exhausting trying to please a picky eater, and I think my willingness to do this actually perpetuated the attitude. So, I decided to make a change, and I bought Mr. Oliver’s cookbook looking for ways to do this. In his book I found inspiration as to the simplicity of meals. This was the first dessert I made from his book and it was a hit around the table.

Six months later, I decided to start blogging about my own revolution. Now a year later, I can honestly say that I rarely make food from the freezer that is not my recipe. (I make a lot of double batches and freeze them for later).  Thanks Jamie Oliver for inspiring me to think outside the freezer!

Shopping List:

butter, for greasing

 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

1/4 cup packed, dark brown sugar

6 tablespoons butter

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons ground ginger

2 large eggs

juice and finely grated zest of 1 small orange

2/3 cup milk

11 tablespoons golden syrup (I used maple syrup in my version)

creme fraiche or custard to serve ( I didn’t use any in mine)

Instructions:

1. Grease the insides of 6 little microwaveable dishes with butter, I used coffee cups.

2. In a medium bowl combine all of the ingredients except  the syrup and creme fraiche or custard. Add one tablespoon of the syrup and mix everything together with a wooden spoon until well combined.

3. Spoon 1 tablespoon of syrup in the bottom of each of the dishes, then divide the cake batter among them.

4. Tear 6 pieces of parchment paper a little larger than the diameter of the dishes. Grease them with a little butter and place them on top pf each dish pressing down gently.

5. Place all of the dishes in the microwave and cook on 50% power for 7 1/2 minutes. Leave the cakes to stand in the microwave for another 5 minutes before carefully removing the parchment paper.

6. To serve, warm 1/4 cup of the syrup in the microwave for 30 seconds. Invert the cakes on to a small dish, you might need to cut around the edges of the dish first to help loosen it. Drizzle with some of the warm syrup and a dollop of creme fraiche or custard.

Makes 6 mini cakes.

This is from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Cookbook. Although my cover looks more like the British version. I found this recipe on page 333.

One thought on “Jamie Oliver’s Steamed Pudding Cakes

Leave a Reply

