Thai Carrot Slaw


Thai Carrot Slaw

I’m not a big fan of coleslaw, in fact, I really hate most that I encounter. If I am served one, I simply doctor it up a bit. I find that they are too sweet for my taste. And don’t even get me started on mayonnaise. I know some of you love this condiment, but I am purely creeped out by it! It’s eggs and oil and it’s supposed to taste like something other than fat? I just don’t get it.

I digress. Although I have a strong distaste for slaws, I do like shredded cabbage as an alternative to lettuce  for a quick salad. And since there’s more good stuff in cabbage than romaine, so I’ve come to topping my tacos as well as serving a shredded cabbage salad tossed with a store-bought Asian Vinaigrette. Paul Newman’s is my favorite right now, and its low fat too.

But this is not a cabbage slaw. It is a shredded carrot slaw with a homemade dressing. And it’s the Big Boy’s favorite salad of the moment.

Shopping List:

2 Tablespoons cilantro leaves, chopped

2 Cups shredded carrots (I used the pre-cut ones from the veggie aisle)

3 cups shredded cabbage

2 Tablespoons chopped roasted peanuts

for the dressing:

4 Tablespoons olive oil

4 Tablespoons seasoned rice vinegar

2 teaspoons honey

a pinch of salt

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions:

1. Place carrots, cabbage and cilantro in a serving bowl.

2. In a small Tupperware container mix dressing ingredients together. Put the lid on the Tupperware and shake it vigorously to combine it all.

3. Toss the salad with the dressing and serve with chopped peanuts.

Serves: 4 as a side dish

3 thoughts on “Thai Carrot Slaw

Leave a Reply

