Blue Cheese Toast


Some days a freshly toasted slice of bread is all I need to satisfy my hunger. The crunch, the smell, the homey feeling fills my belly with love. There’s not much to do to a piece of toast to improve it in my book.

But I am a BIG lover of cheese, and I just can’t resist cheese toast. I thought this might be a nice upgrade on the simplicity of cheese toast. I could probably call this Crostini, and then you’d think it was a whole lot fancier than it is. That’s the reality. This is super easy and tastes fantastic and fancy. I don’t think great tasting food has to be complicated to be impressive.

Shopping List:

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened

2 tablespoons crumbled blue cheese

1/8 teaspoon ground pepper

2 teaspoons of sliced green onions

1 6-inch sandwich roll

Instructions:

1. Heat the oven (or toaster oven) to 450 degrees.

2. In a small bowl, mix with the back of a fork the butter, cheese, pepper and green onions.

2. Slice the roll into 6 1/2-inch slices. Divide and spread the cheese mixture on each peice of bread.

3. Cook these on a baking sheet in the oven (or toaster oven if you like) for 5-7 minutes, until the cheese is bubbly and bread is starting to brown.

This is a super easy and impressive appetizer.  Or serve alongside a salad or a soup too.

Leave a Reply

