Candy Bar Cookies


If you haven’t noticed, I’m not much of a baker. I don’t really crave sweets like many people do. Sure, I like them and sometimes I certainly can’t resist a good creme brule.

But the reality is there is way to much Chemistry involved in baking for me. Since most of my cooking tends to be a creative outlet for me, I find baking way too rigid for my personality. As a result most of my baking recipes tend to be pretty simple and so I end up just  following a recipe.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not feeling the creative energy every day, and some days I just want to follow directions. Life seems to be much simpler when you just follow directions.

So this is about as creative as I can get with baking because when I do try to invent new ones it just doesn’t turn out well. Here I’ve adapted the Toll House Cookie recipe and instead of chocolate chips, I cut up various snack-sized candy bars and tossed them in the dough. They turned out wonderfully chewy with a variety of tastes and textures to satisfy the palate. I would warn you that you should try to mix the milk duds into the dough more than I did because they tend to melt and ooze out the sides, or the centers, for that matter.

Shopping List:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 large eggs

2 1/2 cups cut-up candy bars (I used all snack-sized bars: 4 Almond Joy; 4 boxes of Milk  Duds; 4 Reese’s Peanut Butter cups; 4 Snickers; 4 Twix; 4 Hershey Bars )

Instructions:

1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

3. In a separate bowl beat the butter, sugars and vanilla until creamy. Add the eggs and beat until combined well.

4. Gradually add in the flour mixture.

5. Stir in the chopped candy bars. (I used kitchen shears to just cut the bars right into the bowl, also try to make them bite-sized pieces.)

6. Drop by rounded tablespoons on to an ungreased baking sheet.

7. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets 2 minutes before moving them to wire racks to cool completely.

Adapted from: Nestle Toll House

Leave a Reply

