Gingersnap Syrup


I know many people go crazy for the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks when it comes out in October, but to me it’s really the Gingerbread Latte that sparks my holiday spirit. I just can’t resist that rich spiciness that comes with the ginger and cinnamon concoction, and of course it’s really the caffeine that gets me going.

Somehow the flavors seem to fool my brain into thinking that I’m eating a gingerbread cookie. What’s not to love about the aroma of some warm spices filling your head to get you going in the morning.

So imagine my surprise and excitement when I was perusing a recent Vegetarian Times magazine and a recipe for Gingersnap Latte syrup popped up. Yay! Now I can make my own lattes, get in the spirit and save a few bucks in the process. Enjoy!

Shopping List:

1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 pinch ground nutmeg

1 dash ground cloves (optional, I didn’t have any)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

1. In a small sauce pot combine the molasses, sugar, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves with 1 cup water. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook 15 minutes.

2. Remove it from the heat and stir in the vanilla. Cool and store in a jar in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

3. To make the latte, spoon 1 to 2 tablespoons of the syrup into a mug, add 6 ounces of coffee or 2 shots of espresso and top with warmed milk and whipped cream if you like.

For a kids version, my kids (and I did too) really enjoyed the syrup mixed with some warm milk; we called it Gingerbread Milk.

Recipe from: Vegetarian Times

Leave a Reply

