Chocolate Gran Marnier Drops


This year I thought I’d do a bit of a flashback to old-school style Christmas dinner complete with these drunken treasures to finish the meal. Now mind you, I’ve been off the grid for a bit as far as cooking, since my creativity and computer were out of wack, so when I saw a fellow blogger’s recipe for Bourbon Balls it reminded me of the one’s my mom used to make when I was a kid. I never did like those, but all the adults seemed to love them. Of course, since I’m not a bourbon fan, I choose Gran Marnier, but you can certainly do it totally old school and go for the bourbon ones, or replace the liquor with your favorite kind, ammaretto would be sweet too.

So I figured I’d give it a try to make a life a bit more festive with these little wonders. Little did I know how easy they were to make. Crush up some graham crackers, melt some chocolate, pour, mix, stir and then roll in granulated sugar. Yum! I’m sure that these don’t need to be relegated to the Christmas table either. They’d certainly be a welcome addition to any cocktail party too.

Shopping List:

2 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 cup ground pecans

6 ounces semisweet chocolate

1/2 cup gran marnier

3 tablespoons light corn syrup

granulated sugar, for rolling

Instructions:

1. Combine the graham cracker crumbs, powdered sugar and pecans in a large bowl.

2. In a separate small bowl melt the chocolate in the microwave at short intervals, stirring in between. Start with microwaving it for 1 minute at 50 % power, and then continue at 30 second increments still at 50% power, stir in between each 30 second pass. When the chocolate is melted add the corn syrup and gran marnier to the bowl, and combine it well.

3. Add the chocolate mixture to the crumb mixture and stir the two until the crumbs are well moistened. Let this mixture set for 30 minutes at room temperature.

4. Using a small scoop (I used a melon baller to make them super tiny) form the drops into quarter-sized balls. Then, roll them in granulated sugar. Store in an airtight container for up to a week, or freeze them for up to a month (that’s what I did to get a head start on my bake-o-rama.) Enjoy!

Makes: 50 small drops

Adapted from: browneyedbaker

© Suzanne Brown and The Family Style Chef, 2011-2016.

Leave a comment