Strawberry Jellies


Here I go again with these sweet treats that I can live with giving to my kids as a treat. This one comes from an ancient, and I do mean antique (see definition here), cookbook I have had since I was about 12-years old and I first started to get really interested in cooking.

Ok, so I definitely adapted the recipe (the original called for an additional 2 cups of sugar! that’s just ridiculous.) for our modern tastes. I used applesauce and strawberry jello, but you could certainly used any stonefruit or pears that you’ve pureed with any flavor of jello you like.

Shopping List:

2 envelopes unflavored gelatin powder

1 (6 oz.) package strawberry jello

1 1/2 cups of applesauce (see my recipe here)

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Instructions:

1. In a medium pot over high heat combine all of the ingredients until they are well mixed, and then bring it to a boil.

2. Meanwhile, fill a 9 x 3-inch loaf pan with cool water.

3. Once it comes to a boil let it continue to boil away for 1 minute.

4. When the time is up, empty the loaf pan of the water and immediately pour the hot jello mixture in to the pan. No need to dry it.

5. Once it is cool enough to handle place it in the refrigerator for 3 hours or until firm (I let mine sit over night). Then with a knife dipped in water, cut the jellies into 1 inch squares, because it’s the easiest shape really. Pull them out of the pan and place them on an unlined baking tray. Loosely cover the jellies with waxed paper and let them dry out for 8 hours.

6. At this point it’s up to you if you want to roll them in granulated sugar as I did in the photo above. You don’t really need to since they’re perfectly sweet without it. But the sugar does give a pretty sparkle to the treat. But beware, after a few hours sitting around the sugar started to become syrupy, which is kinda gross. So if you’re serving these to friends I’d  wait to roll them in the sugar, but my family didn’t care about the syrupy-ness. I only mention it because it surprised me.

Makes about 30 1-inch candies.

Adapted from: Betty Crocker’s Cooking for Boys and Girls, 1984.

Leave a Reply

