Brussel Sprout Salad


So by now I'm sure you none of you reading this are surprised that this salad will include two of my favorites: bacon and blue cheese. My hubby and I recently went out to a nice French restaurant where we ordered a salad similar to this. I've seen a ton of brussel sprout salads in mags lately, but often they are served raw and shredded, like coleslaw (see here for my thoughts about this salad), so when this came to our table I was surprised that it was in fact a wonderfully savory and sweet way for me to eat this often shunned, now celebrity-like veggie.

I have to say I was pretty impressed with this salad. Since it is one that can be made ahead and is full of nutrients, I wouldn't be shocked if it started to make an appearance at the holiday buffet for my family. You have been warned!

Shopping List:

1 pound brussel sprouts, trimmed and halved

3 slices of bacon

1/4 cup of walnuts

2 green onions, sliced

1 apple, peeled and sliced

1-2 tablespoons light blue cheese dressing

Instructions:

1. In a 8 x 8 baking dish toss the brussel sprouts with about 1 tablespoon olive oil and roast at 475 degrees for about 20 minutes.

2. When the brussel sprouts have cooled for about 10 minutes, toss in all the other ingredients and serve.

Serves 4 as a side dish

One thought on “Brussel Sprout Salad

Leave a Reply

