Banana Caramel Sauce


I’ve been wracking my brain on how to use up my bananas once again. I’m kind of tired of the banana bread idea, and I was thinking about making some sort of jam. But then again I’m not all too sure that would turn out well. Considering that my hubby drinks a lot of banana milkshakes as it is, I thought this might be a good extension of that. And since I’m not really a fan of bananas in dessert, this was a stretch for me.

So I scoured the web in search of what I was looking for and lo and behold I found a recipe from Emeril for Bananas Foster, the New Orleans classic (that I’ve never tried because of the aforementioned condition). and that’s when I decided that this banana dessert idea might just include enough butter and sugar for me to enjoy it. And f course since the kiddos were going to partake in this yummy treat I ditched the liquor and replaced it with vanilla. Although, FYI, the liquor does cook off, it’s just that the flavor that it  leaves behind is not one that I think kids would enjoy. Hey, guess what? It was honestly pretty good. Again, I think this is due to my love of butter, I’m not totally converted yet.

Shopping List:

2 bananas sliced into 1/2 inch chunks

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup of toasted walnuts

pinch of salt

Instructions:

1. In a small sauce pot over medium heat, melt the butter and brown sugar. The sugar will begin to look glossy and no longer granulated.

2. Add the cinnamon, vanilla and bananas. Cook for approximately 5 minutes, depending on the ripeness your bananas. You want them to be fragrant and slightly mushy.

3. Let the sauce cool 1-2 minutes and then pour 1/4 cup over some quality ice cream, or stir into some vanilla yogurt for a wonderfully decadent, but super simple dessert.

Adapted from: The Essence of Emeril

Serves: 4

2 thoughts on “Banana Caramel Sauce

  1. HI there! Some yummy things here. I’ve printed out a few recipes, Thanks. I’ve collected a slew of recipes from all different kinds of resources and are all fairly easy to make(who needs more hassle in life, right?) and quite tasty. Let me know if you would want to put one or two up on your blog.
    I love cooking and have made some incredible eats, from a curry dip to a yogurt chicken to candied walnuts. To make something absolutely delicious from scratch is quite fulfilling. When she has to write something at school about home life or something at Thanksgiving, my daughter Sophia always brings up my cooking, which is quite hearwarming.
    Hope all is well with the Ray and the kids. Give them my regards! Joe
    P.S. Just bought some Breyer’s vanilla ice cream today and the banana caramel sauce will be given a try tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

