Five Favorite Soups for a Chilly Week


IMG_3824I rarely meet a soup that I don’t like. They are a bit like people, you know. Some are smooth and refined, while others are rough around the edges, and yet others are just too darn spicy for me. To me soup is always just a bowl of comfort, really. And, it’s such a non-threatening way to introduce an unfamiliar veggie to kids that I made it my Fall/Winter Mission to get my kids to eat a small bowl of soup at dinner time.

Ok, so this hasn’t worked out so well. But we have made some progress, instead of only noodles and broth, the Big Boy will now eat Tomato Bisque regularly, and this gives me hope that one day he might eat a soup with chunks of stuff in it too. I know this doesn’t seem like a big deal really, but in my food-family centered world it’s huge.

As the cold weather will continue for the next few months I thought I’d put together a collection of my favorites. What’s your favorite soup?

Recipe for Curried Pumpkin Bisque

Shopping List:

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 an onion chopped

1 rib of celery chopped

1 15 oz can cooked pumpkin puree

1 14 oz can reduced sodium chicken broth

1 dry bay leaf

1 teaspoon poultry seasoning

2 teaspoons curry powder

1/2 cup of whole milk or cream

Topping: 1 tsp fresh lime juice mixed with 2 tablespoons sour cream

Instructions:

1. In a medium-size stockpot on medium-high heat saute the onion and celery in the butter for about 5 minutes or until soft.

2. Then, add the pumpkin, chicken broth (or veggie if you like), bay leaf, poultry seasoning and curry powder. Stir it all until the spices are evenly distributed, and then let it come to a simmer (tiny bubbles will form on the top). Let it simmer, but not boil for about 10 minutes so that the flavors can all marry nicely.

3. Transfer the mixture to a blender and cover the top with a towel over the lid (the hot soup could splatter) puree on high for 2 minutes. then return the soup to the pot and add the milk. Stir it until the soup is warm throughout. Use salt and pepper to your taste at this stage.

Serves: 4-6 for a first course

Stuffed Potato Chowder

Stuffed Potato Chowder: My take on the Marie Calendar’s Classic. I could seriously eat this everyday!

Lentil Chorizo Soup

Lentil Chorizo:This is a spicy kick in the pants soup, really good to clear your sinus if you’re under the weather.

Sicilian White Bean

Silician White Bean: A traditional family favorite, pasta e fagioli, need I say more.

Spicy and Tipsy Tomato Soup
Spicy and Tipsy Tomato Soup

Tipsy Tomato: Two variations on Tomato Soup: one spicy and one mild.

2 thoughts on “Five Favorite Soups for a Chilly Week

Leave a Reply

