Tropical Pineapple Smoothie with Toasted Coconut


IMG_3807Some days I just need an escape. Today was a day like that where I spent some serious time daydreaming about warmer weather and relaxing poolside in a cabana of some sort where a waiter would bring be a tempting tropical drink.

Alas, I did not escape to that luxurious lifestyle today. But I did find this recipe in my journals for a sure-fire way to transport me to a tropical locale without leaving my backyard. So in between some moments of insanity I made myself a smoothie and travelled further than I had planned today.

Shopping List:

1 banana

1 cup chopped pineapple (I used fresh, but I’m sure canned would be ok here too)

1/2 cup of almond milk (We’re trying to avoid too much dairy:))

1/2 a lime juiced

1/4 cup shredded coconut toasted in the oven for 5 minutes

instructions:

1. In a high-powered blender add all of the ingredients except the coconut. Pulse for a few seconds and then set it liquefy for 1 minute, or until it’s the consistency you prefer.

2. Top with a slice of lime and the toasted coconut. Sip slowly and you’ll swear you’ve taken a mini-vacay.

Serves: 1 tired person

2 thoughts on “Tropical Pineapple Smoothie with Toasted Coconut

Leave a Reply

