Baked Green Chile Artichoke Dip


P1050450It’s been years since I made an artichoke dip, but with hosting a Super Bowl party last weekend and the chilly weather I thought what a perfect opportunity to revamp my old favorite.

So after looking up that goodie, but oldie from my standby Joy of Cooking I was a little disappointed. Way too much mayonnaise in the recipe for my taste! And then, I contemplated making a spinach artichoke dip like this one, which is fantastic. But I quickly ditched that idea in favor of something more cheesey. Insert Paula Deen.

I know she’s lost all kinds weight recently,but when comes right down to it her recipes shine as examples of classic comfort food in my book. The simplicity of ingredients and the homemade quality of most of her dishes stand out. I guess that’s why she became so successful:)

Although her recipe (see link below) is fantastic, I did make a few twists to it so it could be my own. I was aiming for something reminiscent of a green chile rice casserole that my aunt used to make, but really in a dip form. And I hoped to get lots of cheesey gooiness in every bite, and Ms. Deen’s recipe was the perfect starting point.

Shopping List:

14 oz. can of quartered artichokes, cut in half once more, NOT marinated

8 oz. of cream cheese, softened

7 oz. can of chopped green chiles

1 1/2 cup of sour cream

1/2 cup of mayonnaise

3/4 cup of parmesan cheese

1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a medium-sized bowl combine all ingredients except a 1/4 cup of parmesan. Spread mixture in a greased baking dish, 8 x 8 works well. Sprinkle with remaining cheese.

3. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Serve with baguettes or crackers. Enjoy!

MAKE AHEAD NOTE: This can be prepared up to step two then refrigerated for 24-hours. To prepare bring the dish to room temperature for 30 minutes before baking in the oven according to step three.

Adapted from: Paul Deen’s Best Dishes, Artichoke Dip

3 thoughts on “Baked Green Chile Artichoke Dip

Leave a Reply

