Happy 2 Year Blogging to Me! And Strawberry French Toast Pots


P1050463Hello, followers. I can’t believe it’s been two years since I started this blog. I admit, I haven’t always been that consistent with my posts, but that doesn’t mean that my love for food or experimentation with it has fallen by the wayside. In fact, quite the opposite.

When I began this blog I had been dealing with a picky eater, but I had finally overcome the biggest hurdle of all: making one dish for the whole family to eat for dinner. As a working mom of two under 4, I had hit my tipping point with catering to my kids every food dislike. And over my summer vacation I started making one meal for the whole family to eat. It was a rough summer filled with complaints, and yes, some nights the kids didn’t eat much for dinner. I held my ground and found that Jacob, my big boy, liked being part of my recipe testing experiment. Most nights he would help me create meals, and then he would rate them with smiley faces. I had talked to a few other moms that were dealing with the same Chicken Nugget issue, but it wasn’t until my Winter Break that I started exploring more and more food blogs. I had read Julie and Julia a few years prior to it’s Hollywood premier, and thought to myself: Heck, I can do that!  Then, a fellow co-worker of mine Maria over at Scrumptious and Sumptuous told me she started a blog, and that’s what gave me the push I needed to just go for it and combine my two passions: food and writing.

Over the past two years I feel like I’ve been able to get back to having a few moments to myself on a relatively regular basis where I can craft these posts. So today I reflect on how I have carved out a little time each day for myself and hope that I can continue to do that for years to come. I hope that you too may be able to take a small moment each day to reflect on the beauty of life and take advantage of the opportunities provided to us as global citizens.

So what recipe should I post to represent this all? Hmmm. One of my favorites: Strawberry Stuffed French Toast!

Shopping List:
1 cup of store bought fresh croissants, torn into bite-sized peices
1 eggs, scrambled
2 Tablespoons of whole milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3 ounces of cream cheese, softened
1 tablespoon of powdered sugar
1/2 cup of frozen strawberries (or any berry you like), thawed and cut in half
2 tablespoons straberry preserves, melted

Instructions:
1. In a small bowl mix well the cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla and the strawberries.
2. In a seperate bowl whisk the egg with the milk.
2. Spray a 8 ounces coffee cup with cooking spray and fill half of the cup with torn croissants.
3. Place one tablespoon of the cream cheese mixture ontop of the bread, then layer more croissants until you’ve filled the cup.
4. Slowly pour most of the egg mixture over the bread so that all of the bread is submerged in egg.
5. Microwave at HIGH for 2 minutes.
6. Remove from the microwave and invert on a serving plate. Drizzle with melted strawberry jam and some extra powdered sugar.
Serves: 1

One thought on “Happy 2 Year Blogging to Me! And Strawberry French Toast Pots

Leave a Reply

