Roasted Tomato Bruschetta Topping


P1050799I’m going to get this out of the way right now…I’m not a fan of cherry tomatoes. The explosion that they create inside my mouth is a bit much for me, sometimes I will cut them in half so that I can tolerate them in a salad. But most of the time I just shun them to the side of my plate.

This is not to say that I don’t like tomatoes or tomato sauce. In fact I love slow roasted tomatoes and the sweetness that they deliver. For years I’ve been making a fresh bruschetta topping for my crostini, but a few months ago I attempted a twist on my old classic.

I roasted my tomatoes instead of just dicing them, and wow the richness of the fruit shined.

Shopping List:

1 8oz. package cherry or grape tomatoes, halved

1/4 cup fresh basil, snipped into shreds

3 garlic cloves, crushed or sliced

salt and pepper

Instructions:

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Toss the tomatoes with olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper.

2. Spread tomatoes evenly on a baking sheet and bake for about 20 minutes, or until tomatoes appear blistered and tender.

3. Remove from the oven and toss with basil. Serve with toasted baguettes or crackers.

Adapted from: Rachael Ray, 30 Minutes Meals, 2008.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Bruschetta Topping

Leave a Reply

