Sauvignon Blanc Peach Jam


P1050904

My peach tree has just about fallen over because it is so full of ripe peaches. Some might not think this is such a bad thing. In fact, when we first checked out the house before we bought it I was ecstatic to find my favorite fruit right in my own backyard.

But then the next season at our new home I realized that there needed to be some pruning of the tree a little too late in the season. There were way too many peaches, but they were the size of a golf ball. The effort involved in peeling these tiny peaches wasn’t really worth it too me. And I was getting tired of just eating them whole, so I learned to prune. Kind of.

So on the second year in our home, after I had pruned it I had hoped that the fruit would be larger, since read this was the way to get bigger peaches. I guess that first pruning year–the second peach season– I had not pruned enough. The peaches were still pretty small, but now I also had come to the realization that squirrels were nibbling on all the good ones before I had even gone to pick them.

And now it’s the third peach season, and we are in business. These peaches are beautiful! So, in the last two weeks I have gone to the yard and picked them one by one everyday, so that those sneaky squirrels wouldn’t get all of our yummy fruit. And I’ve been busy in the kitchen trying to use them before they spoil. So far I’ve made peach-applesauce, peach and banana smoothies, peach hand pies among other recipes listed below.

 

But alas, I was still piled high with peaches when I thought I’d try my hand at concocting a jam out of the cherubs. So why not make that glass of sangria into a jam to spread on your morning toast? Oh yeah, it’s summer summer time (cue Will Smith music).

Shopping List:

6 cups of peeled, pitted and sliced peaches

1/2 cup of sugar

1 cup of Sauvignon blanc

2 teaspoons of lemon juice

Instructions:

1. Bring all ingredients to a boil over medium heat. Lower the temperature to low and continue to cook for 20 minutes with the lid cracked but covering the pot.

2. Remove the lid and continue to simmer on low for 10-15 minutes more until the jam is the desired consistency.

3. At this point you could use a water canning method for this jam, if you like, to use later in the year, or you can just store it in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to one month.

For tips on canning check out The Ball Website, The Brown Eyed Baker, A Veggie Venture

For my other yummy peach recipes: Chili Crusted Scallops with Peach Remoulade and Cinnamon Peach Lemonade plus a few more to come.

One thought on “Sauvignon Blanc Peach Jam

Leave a Reply

