Super Indulgent, Mini-Chocolate Pancakes


P1060599

I know it seems pretty unlikely, but this week I am turning forty. Yep! You heard me right. I think I’m certainly on the older end of some other food bloggers, but whatever. For those of you wondering how I’m handling this milestone, I can honestly say that I feel pretty good. In fact I feel fabulous! In my forty years I’ve accomplished quite a lot, career, marriage, kids….blah, blah, blah. But I am thrilled there is so much more to come, the tough infant years and struggling with balancing it all is behind me.

So it’s not only my birthday this week, but also my three-year blogiversary…and Valentine’s Day. The stars could not have aligned better for a perfect little breakfast treat post.

Ok, so I’ve had this in the queue for about a month, but these might be the perfect surprise for a certain someone who loves, I mean loooovvvves chocolate….yep, my hubby! And since I can make a giant batch of these because of their cute little size, I can definitely pop some extras in the freezer to save for a special treat after a family movie night.

Shopping List:

3 cups of cake flour (cake flour is definitely worth it, the texture is super tender)

3/4 cup of granulated  sugar

1/2 cup of cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons baking powder

2 cups milk

2 eggs

3 teaspoons vanilla (or 1 tablespoon)

Instructions:

1. In a large bowl mix together dry ingredients and then make a well in the center to incorporate slowly the wet ingredients.

2. Cook on a greased skillet at medium heat. Flip the pancake when bubbles on the top begin to pop, then cook a minute longer on the other side. Serve with plenty of sinful toppings.

Note: You can certainly adjust for vanilla pancakes by eliminating the cocoa powder and reducing the vanilla to one teaspoon.

Inspired by: Mini-birthday pancakes at Love and Cupcakes

Adapted from: The Pioneer Woman’s Perfect Pancakes

One thought on “Super Indulgent, Mini-Chocolate Pancakes

Leave a Reply

