Green Monster Smoothie


P1070400I am always looking for ways to get more veggies into our family diet and with the trend of adding them to smoothies I have to say I was a little hesitant. But I will admit that I have been won over.

 

A few months ago I ventured into one of the juicing stores around town, and  I tried one of their drinks that didn’t seem to far off the beaten path. I think it was orange and pineapple and spinach. I was blown away because I realized that if my kids were comfortable with the green color, they would surely drink this one.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not going crazy and hiding spinach in everything. Because that’s just ridiculous…kids should know what a real vegetable tastes like. Here’s my twist on the drink I tried.

 

Shopping List:

3 cups of fresh baby spinach
1 banana
1 cup of frozen pineapple
1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
2 tablespoons sugar

Instructions:
1. In a sturdy blender layer the ingredients in the order listed above and blend on the highest speed possible for about 1-2 minutes. Adjust the amount of milk to get it to the consistency you like.

Serves: 2

Leave a Reply

