Spicy and Tipsy Tomato Soup


Spicy and Tipsy Tomato Soup

One of my all-time favorite comfort foods is tomato soup, next to mac and cheese and fried chicken of course. Give me a bowl of tomato soup on a day where I’m feeling under the weather, and it perks me right up. No matter the variation I shovel it in!

About a month ago, I was playing around with trying to make a tomato soup version that I could convince my kids to eat along with me when I developed this recipe. It was so super easy and fast it will definitely stay in the repertoire for the cold season this year. See below for how you can satisfy kid tastes with this soup too.

Shopping List:

1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes

1 cup chicken stock

1/3 cup Chardonnay

1/2 a small jalapeno diced

1 can diced tomatoes in juice

Instructions:

1. In a saucepan on medium-high heat warm all of the ingredients until the sun-dried tomatoes are softened. This takes about 5-7 minutes once it all comes to a simmer.

2. Stick your immersion blender into the pot and puree away, and then soup is on! Or pour it into a blender and use the highest setting for 1 minute, or until it is to your desired consistency.

3. Spoon on some greek yogurt, cilantro and crusty bread. For a heartier meal top it with some poached shrimp.

For a kids version that I call Pizza Soup simply leave the jalapeno out of the mix; add 1 teaspoon Italian herb mix; and replace the wine with broth. Serve with Grilled Ham and Cheese Toasts Voila!

2 thoughts on “Spicy and Tipsy Tomato Soup

Leave a comment